Normal service will resume shortly, but first….

What an amazing week. There will be a daily round-up post coming out later tonight followed by some musing from the whole event but first I need to thank everyone for making the conference such an inspirational time. I reflected over lunch about how yes it is tiring and exhausting but at the same time we draw on the combined energy in the rooms and somehow feel uplifted and inspired to go back to daily life refreshed and ready to continue the journey towards true inclusion for all members in society.

Back home we have a Maori proverb that reminds us why we do what we do

He aha te mea nui o te ao?
He tangata! He tangata! He tangata!
What is the most important thing in the world?
It is people! It is people! It is people!

There are so many wonderful wonderful people I have met for the first time this week, or have reconnected with IRL – you are all very special people playing a very special role in society. Its a role that is often mis-understood, marginalised or ignored, much like the people we work with daily yet somehow we all get up each morning ready to stand shoulder to shoulder and carry on doing what we do best. There are however a couple of people that I want to name & shame that have made a big impact on me this week.

Firstly, the #TwitterArmy as a whole. You guys ROCK! I don’t think the conference would have been anywhere as great without your combined efforts to share the knowledge, poke each other in jest or offer a supportive message. Thank you thank you thank you.

Emily Wailes, Georgia Cranko, Emma Green, Sheridan Forster, Melinda Smith, Jane Farrell – somehow I am going to fit you all in my suitcase and take you home with me. Your presentations, energy, passion and very presence moved me. You all have such great stories that need to be shared across both of our countries if not further afield. And if I cant get you to me in person then I will find a way to spread your messages in other mediums! (not to say others weren’t good.. but you know I am allowed to have my favorites!)

As I tweeted this afternoon, we need to keep the momentum, the sharing of ideas and news flowing. But in the meantime, thank you all. Safe travels back to your family and loved ones.

Roll on #AGOSCI2015 in Brisbane!

 

2 Responses to Normal service will resume shortly, but first….

  1. Emily says:

    Hi Aaron, I have finally managed to read all your conference blogs now that the party – whoops, I mean conference! – is over. Thank you for sharing your insights and especially for your feedback on my presentation. I’m so glad you came away from it with some inspiration (even if you did have to put your #rantypants on!) Will keep on touch with you via Twitter as we support each other to get communication on the agenda!

  2. Jane Farrall says:

    Aaron – really great to read your conference blogs!! Thank you for your summaries – and for allowing me to vicariously visit a few more papers. See you at the next conference 🙂

Leave a comment