Journey of (IT) discovery as a small charity Part 1

 

I haven’t been online much in the past month or so as I recently joined the Board of a small charity in Auckland called Glow Kids. Glow Kids provides Conductive Education to children with (primarily) a motor neuron disorder such as Cerebral Palsy or Dyspraxia. One of the key tasks assigned to me with my IT background was to get a digital presence up and running for them, including a website and Social Media.

In this series of posts I want to share some of the awesome tools available to charities to get online and then manage the results, all whilst doing it for FREE! Yes, free.

For those that do not know, I currently work as IT Manager for a large not-for-profit in Auckland so working with limited money & resources isn’t a new concept to me. What differs between my day job and Glow Kids is the economies of scale. The day job does have budget to get certain things done, such as web hosting & design, external marketing ‘experts’ and collateral and the like. Glow Kids, as a small start-up charity has extremely limited funds and resources. The challenge was to move from looking at tools that cost or are for larger organisations to alternatives that are, shall we say, more cost-appealing or fringe.

First up, a website. Two parts to this; hosting and Content Management System or CMS. There are a lot of hosting providers around, but I settled on 24/7 Hosting for a couple of reasons. First, they offer FREE hosting to charities! Secondly, they use Softaculous App Installer. This is a nifty tool that lets you install all manner of web applications with a single click, such as WordPress, Joomla, Drupal and Moodle. They are also a Kiwi company with local support. There are a bunch of other services they offer but for me free + easy set-up nailed it!

I decided concurrently to use WordPress as the CMS. This blog you are reading now is WordPress and it is really simple to use. One of the other attractions for me is the number or plugins available to extend the product. I will go into the ones I deployed in a later post. With the hosting company and the CMS platform decided, I filled out a really simple online form and before I could finish my coffee I had an account set-up. We already had a couple of domain names to during the sign-up I moved them over and pointed them to the new service. Took a day to get the account verified as belonging to a charity, then it was a simple matter of logging into the portal, clicking WordPress and within 5 minutes it was done, and we could browse to the root page. How easy is that!

Next post I will go through WordPress in a bit more detail, and share some of the useful tools we have deployed so far.

 

One Response to Journey of (IT) discovery as a small charity Part 1

  1. Pingback: Journey of (IT) discovery as a small charity Part 2 « Kiwi IT Geek

Leave a Reply

